Understanding and forgiveness – I’m a failed befriender

Well worth a read and made me think of my volunteering experience with GoodGym and how important my relationship with my coaches have been.

anniecoops

It seemed the right thing to do; loneliness to me seems to be one of the most challenging things to face in older age in modern society and surely befriending could help? Two years ago in January I set out to try to offer something to help with loneliness somewhere. It took me ages to find a way of helping (blogs about that here and here) but earlier in 2015 I became a befriender for a small local charity.

I am no longer a befriender.

This feels like a confession but I equally feel compelled to write this down – It didn’t quite pan-out as I thought it would.

The charity, rightly, do loads of vetting before you can go one the list of befrienders. Interviews and CRB checks. We both went together, thinking that as a family unit we might be more helpful to someone. My husband is…

View original post 458 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

